Employment, Social Affairs & Inclusion

Where do these rules apply?

If you are covered by the EU social security coordination, you can rely on these rules in:

The European Union (EU)

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

The European Economic Area (EEA) and Switzerland

  • Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein (EEA countries).
  • Switzerland.

New Regulations 883/2004 and 987/2009 apply to Switzerland since 1 April 2012 and to Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein since 1 June 2012. Since 2 February 2013 the Regulation 465/2012 applies also to Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein.

Please note that Regulations 883/2004 and 987/2009 does not apply between Croatia and Switzerland. The Protocol on the participation of Croatia to the Free Movement of Persons Agreement between the EU and Switzerland is not in force yet.

Find out about your rights country by country

Relations with non-EU countries

The EU is currently working on a decision of the Association Council based on the association agreements with Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia, North Macedonia and Israel. The decision will assure the exportability of certain benefits, such as pensions, on the basis of reciprocity towards EU nationals. Currently, the benefits are only exported when national legislation or a bilateral agreement provides so.

More information

Check our frequently asked questions for further information.

Share this page