Employment, Social Affairs & Inclusion

EU legislation

Modernised coordination

Modernised coordination applies in the EU since 1 May 2010. It includes the following consolidated regulations:

These texts include the modifications to Regulation (EC) No 883/2004 and Regulation (EC) No 987/2009 made by Regulation (EC) No 988/2009, Commission Regulation (EU) No 1244/2010, Regulation (EU) No 465/2012 and Commission Regulation (EU) No 1224/2012.

EU provisions on the coordination of social security schemes have existed since Regulations No 3 and 4 of 1958. They have been updated and extended many times.

However, modernised coordination is the first major reform since the 1970s regulations:

Nationals of non-EU countries

Since 1 January 2011, Regulation (EU) No 1231/2010 extends modernised coordination to nationals of non-EU countries (third-country nationals) legally resident in the EU and in a cross-border situation. Their family members and survivors are also covered if they are in the EU.

It does not apply to Denmark or the United Kingdom.

Regulation (EU) No 1231/2010 will be a source of rights, for example, in the case of a third-country national who has moved from one EU country to another for work, but whose children have stayed in the previous EU country.

Non-EU nationals can continue to benefit from the previous EU coordination rules in cases concerning the United Kingdom as Regulation (EC) No 859/2003 (which extended Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 to nationals of non-EU countries) continues to apply there.


Modernised coordination applies in relation to Switzerland as from 1 April 2012.

The EEA (European Economic Area)

Modernised coordination applies in relation to Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein (EEA countries) as from 1 June 2012.

No related news in the last six months.

Share this page