Degree of Urbanisation (DEGURBA)

Correspondence table

Degree of Urbanisation (DEGURBA)
- Local Administrative Units

The degree of urbanisation (DEGURBA) creates a classification of all LAUs (Local Administrative Units) into the following three categories:

(1) Cities (densely populated areas) (Code 1)
(2) Towns and suburbs (intermediate density areas) (Code 2)
(3) Rural areas (thinly populated areas) (Code 3)

This classification is regularly revised on the basis of the most recent population grid and the latest LAU boundaries. Three types of area have been identified and defined using, after the revision, a criterion of geographical contiguity in combination with a minimum population threshold based on population grid square cells of 1 km. These grid cells all have the same shape and surface, which avoids distortions caused by using units varying in size.

The DEGURBA classification in its current version is used in different domains since 2012 in all surveys concerned.

The tables available here provide the correspondence between the LAU units and the DEGURBA categories in all EU countries.

Methodological notes

Contact :