Temporary agency workers across EU regions - Products Eurostat News

null Temporary agency workers across EU regions


© stockfour / Shutterstock.com

In 2019, 2.1% of employees in the European Union aged 20-64 worked for a temporary work agency. At the EU level, this accounted for 2.5% of employed men aged 20-64 and for a slightly smaller share of employed women (1.7%).

At the NUTS 1 regional level, this form of employment was most common in North Netherlands with 6.6%. This region includes the provinces of Groningen, Friesland and Drenthe. This was followed by Bremen in Germany (5.3%) and three regions in Spain: East, North-West and North-East Spain (all 5.1%).




At the other end of the scale, the region including the Islands of Italy, Sardinia and Sicily, recorded the lowest percentage of employees working for temporary work agencies (0.2%) across EU regions with available data. This region was followed by Attica in Greece, Central Hungary, Great Plain and North in Hungary (all 0.3%).








  • Regional data for Czechia, Denmark, Ireland, Croatia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Slovenia, Slovakia, Norway, Switzerland, Montenegro, North Macedonia: single regions at this level of detail
  • National data with low reliability: Norway
  • Regional data with low reliability: Brussels Region (BE1), Central Greece (EL6), Centre-Val de Loire (FRB), Burgundy-Franche-Comté (FRC), Normandy (FRD), Central Hungary (HU1), North-Western (PL4), South-Western (PL5), Northern (PL6), Central (PL7), Eastern (PL8), Mazowieckie (PL9), Macroregion one (RO1), North East, England (UKC), Wales (UKL) and Scotland (UKM)
  • National data not available due to very low reliability: Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Iceland
  • Regional data not available due to very low reliability: Aegean Islands, Crete (EL4), Central Greece (EL5), Corsica (FRM), French outermost regions (FRY), Transdanubia (HU2), Azores (PT2), Madeira (PT3), Macroregion three (RO3), Macroregion four (RO4), Åland Islands (FI2), South West, England (UKK) and Northern Ireland (UKN)
  • This list shows translations of the names of regions in the EU Member States into English.
  • The European Union (EU) includes 27 EU Member States. The United Kingdom left the European Union on 31 January 2020. Further information is published here.



Source data:



To contact us, please visit our User Support page.

For press queries, please contact our Media Support.