Production of nuclear heat down 1.3 % in 2017


© Bildagentur Zoonar GmbH /
Logo Statistics Explained

In 2017, there were nuclear reactors in operation in 14 European Union (EU) Member States: Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechia, Germany, Spain, France, Hungary, the Netherlands, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland, Sweden and the United Kingdom. There are no nuclear facilities in the other EU Member States.

The total production of nuclear heat in the EU in 2017 was 210 726 thousand tonnes of oil equivalent (toe), a decrease of 10.0 % compared with 2009 and 1.3 % below the value for 2016.

Infographic on nuclear heat production in 2017

The source data are here.

France was the biggest producer of nuclear heat in 2017 (103 861 thousand tonnes of oil equivalent), followed by Germany (19 655 ktoe) and Sweden (16 351 ktoe).

The production of nuclear heat is considered in energy statistics as the energy source for nuclear energy, i.e. the total amount of heat obtained from the fission of nuclear fuels in nuclear reactors. This heat is subsequently used for the production of electricity or for other useful applications of heat.


For more information:


To contact us: