Navigation path

Social protection systems - MISSOC

What is MISSOC?

The EU's Mutual Information System on Social Protection (MISSOC) provides detailed, comparable and regularly updated information about national social protection systems in English, French and German.

MISSOC publishes the Comparative tables on social protection covering:

  • 32 countries: the 28 EU Member States plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland;
  • 12 main areas of social protection: financing, healthcare, sickness, maternity, invalidity, old-age, survivors, employment injuries and occupational diseases, family, unemployment, guaranteed minimum resources and long-term care;
  • more than 300 detailed categories.

In addition, the Cross-cutting introductions to the comparative tables provide a trans-national approach to the main concepts and principles of each social protection branch. As from 2011, MISSOC is also in charge of updating a series of guides to national social security systems, more specifically designed to inform citizens moving within Europe.

MISSOC also produces the MISSOC Analysis, an annual information bulletin and other specialised publications. Archive material concerning MISSOC's activities is available via the MISSOC Secretariat.

Other MISSOC publications

Who uses MISSOC?

MISSOC is used by:

  • Policy-makers and officials from the EU countries
  • Researchers and students
  • People who move to another European country to live or work

How is the information updated?

MISSOC is coordinated by the European Commission, with the assistance of a Secretariat it has appointed.  Each of the countries covered designates one or two correspondents from the national ministries or institutions responsible for social security. The correspondents periodically update the comparative tables and the guides to national social security systems.