Navigation path

Additional tools

The Commissioners (2010-2014)

Find out more about each member of the second Barroso Commission and their portfolios.

How we work

The Commission is composed of the College of Commissioners of 28 members, including the President and vice-presidents. The Commissioners, one from each EU country, provide the Commission's political leadership during their 5-year term. Each Commissioner is assigned responsibility for specific policy areas by the President.

Get to know the Commission

The term 'Commission' refers to both the 'College' of Commissioners and to the civil service below them, which is based largely in Brussels. The Commission also has an office ('representation') in every EU country.