This site has been archived on (2014/12/08)

Navigation path

Additional tools

History – European Commission

Previous Commission Presidents

Explore the history of the Commission through its Presidents - from Walter Hallstein and the beginnings of the Common Market, through to Romano Prodi and the adoption of the Euro.

The first Barroso Commission (2004 – 2009)

See which Commissioners were responsible for which policy in the Commission's previous term.

The history of the European Union

Want to know more about how the EU was formed and the context in which this happened? Read about the European project, a work which remains in progress.


Choose high-contrast version Set page to normal font size Increase font size by 200 percent send this page to a friend print this page

Help us improve

Find what you wanted?

Yes No

What were you looking for?

Any suggestions?