Employment, Social Affairs & Inclusion

Access City Award

Three pictures of disabled people smiling and the Commission logo

The Access City Award recognises and celebrates a city's willingness, ability and efforts to become more accessible, in order to

  • guarantee equal access to fundamental rights
  • improve the quality of life of its population and ensure that everybody – regardless of age, mobility or ability – has equal access to all the resources and pleasures cities have to offer

The Access City Award is open to

  • all EU cities of over 50 000 inhabitants
  • urban areas composed of two or more towns with a combined population of over 50 000 inhabitants, if they are in EU countries with fewer than 2 cities with over 50 000 inhabitants

Access City Award 2023 – Apply now

The 2023 Access City Award competition is open for applications until 8 September 23:59 CEST. Are you making significant efforts to become more accessible for persons with disabilities? Prepare your application now for a chance to follow in the footsteps of the 2022 Access City Award winner, the City of Luxembourg.

Why an Access City Award?

Around 87 million people have some forms of disability in the EU and its population is also becoming older. Additionally, Europe is now essentially an urban society, with four out of five EU citizens living in towns and cities.

The European Union promotes equality of opportunity and accessibility for people with disabilities. A fundamental part of its strategy involves working towards a barrier-free Europe. 

The Access City Award is an award recognising cities that have worked to become more accessible for their citizens. It is an EU initiative that

  • recognises efforts by cities to become more accessible
  • promotes equal access to urban life for people with disabilities
  • allows local authorities to promote and share their best practices


Technical and registration issues: secretariat@accesscityaward.eu

General inquiries: EMPL-EDPD-ACA@ec.europa.eu

Alternatively, find the previous winners in this list.

Share this page