Übersicht

Was sind Mikrodaten?

Mikrodaten enthalten Datensätze mit Informationen zu Personen, Haushalten oder Unternehmen. Mikrodaten sind in der offiziellen Statistik die Grundlage zur Produktion aggregierter Datensätze, in der Regel in Form von Tabellen. Der Zugang zu vertraulichen Mikrodaten ist eingeschränkt um die Anonymität von Personen oder Unternehmen zu schützen.

Zugang zu Mikrodaten

Zugang zu unseren Mikrodaten gewähren wir nur zu wissenschaftlichen Zwecken.

Damit Ihre Organisation eine Zugangsberechtigung für Eurostats Mikrodaten beantragen kann, muss sie zunächst von uns als Forschungs-einrichtung anerkannt werden – dies gilt für Hochschulen, Forschungsinstitute oder Forschungsabteilungen in der öffentlichen Verwaltung, Banken, statistische Ämter und ähnliches.

Beantragung einer Zugangsberechtigung

  • 1. Schritt – Beantragen Sie die Anerkennung Ihrer Einrichtung als Forschungseinrichtung. Diesen Antrag brauchen Sie unabhängig von der Zahl der späteren Zugangsanträge nur einmal stellen (die Dauer des Verfahrens beträgt in etwa 4 Wochen)
  • 2. Schritt – Beantragen Sie die Zugangsberechtigung für Mikrodaten. Sobald wir Ihre Einrichtung als Forschungseinrichtung anerkannt haben, können Sie die Zugangsberechtigung mit Vorlage Ihres Forschungsvorschlags beantragen (die Dauer des Verfahrens beträgt in etwa 8-10 Wochen)

Wie werden die Daten bereitgestellt?

Je nach der von Ihnen gewünschten Zugangsberechtigung

  • übermitteln wir Ihrem leitenden Wissenschaftler Dateien mit anonymisierten Daten (Dateien zur wissenschaftlichen Verwendung) und/oder
  • gewähren wir Ihrer Einrichtung über den gesicherten Bereich von Eurostat („Safe Centre") Zugang zu nicht anonymisierten Daten (Dateien zur sicheren Verwendung).

Die Zugangsberechtigung gilt nur für den im Forschungsvorschlag angegebenen Zeitraum. Nach dessen Ablauf müssen Sie

  • alle von Eurostat übermittelten Originaldateien zur wissenschaftlichen Verwendung und alle daraus entnommenen vertraulichen Daten vernichten und
  • Eurostat Ihre Forschungsergebnisse übermitteln

Overview Overview

News

As from January 2017 the research proposal applications in MS Word format will be replaced by webforms. At once, an automated system to handle the application procedure will be launched. In order to use the system you will need EU-login (former ECAS).

The applications for research entity recognition are not affected by these changes, the form for this procedure will remain the same.

What are microdata?

Microdata consist of sets of records containing information on individual persons, households or business entities. Microdata are used in official statistics for the production of aggregate information (usually tables). Access to confidential microdata is restricted in order to protect the anonymity of individual persons or businesses.

Access to microdata

We grant access to our microdata for scientific purposes only.

To apply for access to Eurostat's microdata, your organisation must first be recognised by us as a research entity – a university, research institution or research department in a public administration, bank, statistical institute etc.

Applying for access

  • Step 1 – Apply to have your research organisation recognised as a research entity. You only need to do this once, no matter how many access requests you make subsequently (the procedure takes around 4 weeks)
  • Step 2 – Apply for access to microdata. Once we have recognised your organisation as a research entity, you can apply for access by submitting a research proposal (the procedure takes around 8-10 weeks)

How are data provided?

Depending on the access type(s) of your choice, we will:

  • send your principal researcher files containing anonymised data (scientific-use files) on electronic devices (CD-Rom, DVD, etc.) and/or
  • authorise your organisation to access non-anonymised data (secure-use files) in Eurostat's "safe centre".

Access to microdata is only valid for the period specified in the research proposal. At the end of that period, you must:

  • destroy any original scientific-use files sent by Eurostat and any confidential data derived from the files, and
  • send Eurostat your research results.