European Commission logo

European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation (EGTC)

European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation (EGTC) allows public entities of different Member States to come together under a new entity with full legal personality. Through an EGTC Member State public authorities can set up a single joint structure to implement projects, investments or policies in the territory covered by the EGTC, whether co-financed by the EU budget or not.

EGTC members can be:

  • Member States
  • Regional or local authorities
  • Associations
  • Any other public body

The EGTC is unique in the sense that it enables public authorities of various Member States to team up and deliver joint services, without requiring a prior international agreement to be signed and ratified by national parliaments. Member States must however agree to the participation of potential members in their respective countries. The law applicable for the interpretation and application of the convention is that of the Member State in which the official EGTC headquarters are located.

An EGTC convention sets out in particular:

  • The name of the EGTC and its headquarters
  • The list of members
  • The area it covers
  • Its objective
  • Its mission
  • Its duration

An EGTC must have at least the following organs:

  • An assembly made up of representatives of the EGTC members.
  • A director representing the EGTC and acting on its behalf.

The Committee of the Regions keeps the official register of established EGTC. The register and other useful information including the relevant legislation are available on the EGTC Platform