Navigation path

Delivering on the European Pillar of Social Rights

The European Pillar of Social Rights sets out 20 key principles and rights to support fair and well-functioning labour markets and welfare systems. It is primarily conceived for the euro area but applicable to all EU Member States wishing to be part of it.

Delivering on the principles and rights defined in the European Pillar of Social Rights is a joint responsibility of Member States, EU institutions social partners and other stakeholders.

The Commission presented the European Pillar of Social Rights on 26 April 2017. EU leaders proclaimed the Pillar at the Social Summit in Gothenburg, Sweden, on 17 November 2017.

Latest news

President Juncker and Prime Minister Löfven present way forward after the Social Summit

After the Social Summit in Gothenburg on 17 November 2017, European Commission President Juncker and Swedish Prime Minister Löfven take stock of its outcome.


European Commission President Juncker, European Parliament President Tajani and Prime Minister Ratas

European Union leaders have solemnly proclaimed the European Pillar of Social Rights at the Social Summit for fair jobs and growth in Gothenburg, Sweden.


Commission welcomes Council's endorsement of European Pillar of Social Rights


At the Employment, Social Policy, Health and Consumer Affairs Council of 23 October in Luxembourg, EU Ministers of Employment and Social Affairs expressed their unanimous endorsement of the European Pillar of Social Rights.

More news

Follow the debate on Twitter: #SocialRights