Representation in United Kingdom

Northern Ireland office


European Commission office in Belfast
European Commission Representation in Belfast

The Office of the European Commission in Northern Ireland was set up in 1980.  Our role is to represent the European Commission in Northern Ireland and to provide information about the European Union, its programmes and policies. The Office works closely with the Northern Ireland administration and the public and private sectors to help Northern Ireland engage and make the most of European Union funding programmes. We have a dedicated Information Point, open to the public, with a comprehensive range of EU publications available free of charge. The Head of Office is Colette FitzGerald.

Follow us on

European Commission Office in Northern Ireland
74-76 Dublin Road
Belfast BT2 7HP
Tel: 028 9024 0708
Fax: 028 9024 8241
Opening hours: Monday - Friday 9.00am - 5.00pm


See also:

Our Team


Colette FitzGerald
Head of Office

Jeanette Thornton
Office Manager

Catherine McShane
Press Officer
Contact for Northern Ireland media

Karen Morrison
Information Officer

Northern Ireland Task Force

The Northern Ireland Task Force was set up in May 2007 to help Northern Ireland participate more actively in the EU policy process and fully benefit from EU programmes and projects fostering growth and jobs. It operates within the European Commission under the authority of the Commissioner for Regional Policy, Corina Creţu, and is composed of representatives from 17 European Commission Directorates-General (DGs) that have a role in fostering socio-economic development in the broadest sense.

On 14 January 2016, the European Commission announced the continuation of the Northern Ireland Task Force. At the request of European Commission President, Jean-Claude Juncker, the services of the Directorate-General for Regional and Urban Policy, together with their counterparts in Northern Ireland, will carry out an assessment of the work of the Northern Ireland Task Force by the end of 2018.

For more information on the Northern Ireland Task Force, see the DG Regional Policy website.