Is my region covered?

Cohesion policy covers every region in the EU. However, most of the funds are targeted where they are most needed: at regions with a GDP per capita under 75% of the EU average.

How are regions defined? Cohesion policy uses the EU's NUTS system, which divides each country into three levels of statistical units (NUTS regions), according to population size.

General population criteria for the NUTS levels:

Level Minimum Maximum
NUTS level 1 3 million 7 million.
NUTS level 2 800 000 3 million
NUTS level 3 150 000 800 000

Cohesion Policy eligibility 2014-2020

Full text of the regulation on Eur-Lex - List of eligible areas

Eligibility 2014-2020

Map : Structural Funds 2014-2020 (ERDF and ESF) eligibility pdf

Eligibility 2014-2020

Map : Cohesion Fund eligibility 2014-2020 pdf