San Marino joins the EU Strategy for the Adriatic and Ionian Region

Additional tools


The Commission welcomes San Marino as the tenth participating country of the EU Strategy for the Adriatic and Ionian Region (EUSAIR).

The inclusion of San Marino to the EUSAIR is another step for the country to foster its European integration and regional cooperation with neighbouring EU Member States and candidate and potential candidate countries.

The cooperation on equal footing within EUSAIR will further align San Marino with EU policies and joint actions responding to macro-regional challenges. It will enhance the coordination and dialogue between EUSAIR countries and help San Marino to mobilise national funding for projects at macro-regional level, in cooperation with its new partners.

In this context, San Marino will also join the Interreg IPA ADRION programme, which supports the governance of the EUSAIR and covers the same geographic area. San Marino is a close EU neighbour and partner and established relations with the EU in 1983, sharing the EU’s core values. Covering also an important terrestrial surface area, the Adriatic and Ioanian macro-region is home to more than 70 million inhabitants.

The EU Strategy for the Adriatic and Ionian Region involves four EU Member States (Croatia, Greece, Italy, Slovenia), five candidate and potential candidate countries (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, North Macedonia Serbia) and now, San Marino.