European Union Strategy for the Adriatic and Ionian Region (2018)

Additional tools

Available languages : Greek English Croatian Italian Slovenian
Period :
Date : 04/05/2018

The EU Strategy for the Adriatic and Ionian Region (EUSAIR) was adopted by the the European Council in 2014, making it the third macro-regional strategy in the EU.

The Strategy encompasses 8 countries – 4 EU Member States and 4 EU candidate or potential candidate countries – covering an area which is
home to 70 million people: 4 EU Member States: Croatia, Greece, Italy (Abruzzo, Basilicata, Provincia Autonoma di Bolzano/Bozen, Calabria, Emilia-Romagna,
Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Lombardia, Marche, Molise, Puglia, Sicilia, Provincia Autonoma di Trento, Umbria, Veneto) and Slovenia.

4 non-EU countries: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro and Serbia. 

The EUSAIR is built on four thematic pillars:
1) Blue Growth
2) Connecting the Region
3) Environmental Quality
4) Sustainable Tourism

In addition, there are two cross-cutting issues:

  • Research, innovation and SMEs
  • Capacity building, including communication
More information :

EU Strategy for the Adriatic and Ionian Region