Factsheet - EU Strategy for the Danube Region

Additional tools

Available languages : Bulgarian Czech German English Croatian Hungarian Romanian Slovak Slovenian
Period :
Date : 17/10/2017

The EU Strategy for the Danube Region (EUSDR) is the second EU macro-regional strategy adopted by the European Commission in 2010 and endorsed by the European Council in 2011.

The Strategy brings together 14 countries along the Danube river, and covers an area which is home to 112 million people, or one-fifth of the EU’s population.

9 EU Member States: Austria, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Croatia, Germany (Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria), Hungary, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, and Romania.

5 non-EU countries: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia, and Ukraine (Odessa, Ivano-Frankivsk, Chernivtsy and Zakarpatya).

More information :

EU Strategy for the Danube Region