Culture sector initiatives, such as those promoting cross-border cooperation, platforms, networking, and literary translation.

Culture sub-programme


Audiovisual sector initiatives, such as those promoting the development, distribution, or access to audiovisual works.

Media sub-programme


A cross-sectoral strand, including a Guarantee Facility and transnational policy cooperation.

Cross-sector strand

What does it intend to achieve ?

Creative Europe's stated aims are to:

Help the cultural and creative sectors seize the opportunities of the digital age and globalisation;
Enable the sectors to reach their economic potential, contributing to sustainable growth, jobs, and social cohesion;
Give Europe's culture and media sectors access to new international opportunities, markets, and audiences.

This will, specifically, involve providing funding for:

2,500 artists and cultural professionals, 2,000 cinemas, 800 films, 4,500 book translations
A financial guarantee facility of up to €750 million for small businesses active in the sector will also be established in 2016.

Who can take part?

  • The Creative Europe programme is open to cultural and creative organisations from EU Member States, as well as non-EU countries. Subject to certain conditions EEA (European Economic Area), candidate/potential candidate and ENP (European Neighbourhood Policy) countries can also participate in the programme on an equal footing with Member States. The following non-EU countries are eligible:
  • Albania
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Georgia
  • Iceland
  • Norway
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • North Macedonia
  • Serbia
  • Ukraine

More information on eligible countries can be found in the table on non-EU countries, as well as in the guidelines of each specific call for proposals.

How can I apply?

Organisations interested in applying for opportunities can find out more in the individual pages for: Culture sector opportunities; Audiovisual sector opportunities; The cross-sectoral strand. More detailed information on the application process and the results of previous calls are available on the website of the Education, Audiovisual, and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA).