EMAS Awards

In 2021 no EMAS Award will be organised at European level. Interested organisations are invited to participate in national competitions and subsequently in the European Business Award for the Environment (EBAE), which is under consideration for 2022 and offers a category specifically on environmental management.

Since 2005, the European Commission has organised the European EMAS Awards, described as the most prestigious award in environmental management.

The Awards are handed out to organisations that have demonstrated environmental excellence in their category.

Participating organisations from throughout the EU take part in one of five categories:

  1. Private micro and small organisations
  2. Private medium-sized organisations
  3. Private large organisations
  4. Public micro and small organisations
  5. Public medium-sized and large organisations

The EMAS Awards are held every two years and last took place in November 2019 in Bilbao, Spain. The theme was ‘EMAS as driver of change’.