Navigation path


Access City Award 2015 RSS



The fifth edition of the award is open as of 5 June 2014. The Award is part of the EU's wider efforts to create a barrier-free Europe: improved accessibility brings lasting economic and social benefits to cities, especially in the context of demographic ageing.

Since 2010, 171 cities have participated in the 4 previous editions of the Access City Award. Cities with at least 50,000 inhabitants have until 10 September 2014 to submit their entries for the award. Detailed information on the procedure is available at  

In order to facilitate your participation, the guidelines and the participation rules are available in all official EU languages on the website.

The award recognises cities for their efforts to remove barriers in key aspects of everyday life. It highlights the most successful initiatives that allow people with disabilities to participate fully in society and to enjoy their fundamental rights on an equal footing with others.The award covers 4 key areas of accessibility:

  • the built environment and public spaces
  • transport and related infrastructure
  • information and communication, including new technologies (ICTs)
  • public facilities and services.

Which cities won the previous editions?

In the 2010 inaugural edition, 66 European cities from 19 EU Member States participated in the competition. The winning city was Ávila in Spain. The three other finalists were Barcelona (Spain), Cologne (Germany) and Turku (Finland).

Interest for the second edition of the Access City Award was on the rise in 2011, with 114 applications received from 23 EU Member States. The Austrian city of Salzburg was proclaimed as the overall winner. The three finalist “runners-up” were (in alphabetical order): Kraków (Poland), Marburg (Germany) and Santander (Spain). The European Jury also decided to attribute “special mentions” for notable achievements to: Terrassa (Spain) for the built environment and public spaces, Ljubljana (Slovenia) for transport and related infrastructures, Olomouc (Czech Republic) for information and communication, including new technologies and Grenoble (France) for public facilities and services.

In the third edition of the Access City Award, 99 cities from 20 EU member states joined the competition. The Award was given to the German City of Berlin at a ceremony organised in Brussels on 3 December 2012, on the occasion of the European Day of Persons with Disabilities. The two other finalists were: Nantes (France) and Stockholm (Sweden). The jury also assigned special mentions to: Pamplona (Spain) for the built environment and public spaces, Gdynia (Poland) for transport and related infrastructures, Bilbao (Spain) for information and communication, including new technologies and Tallaght (Ireland) for public facilities and services. 

In the fourth edition, 102 cities applied from 23 EU countries. The winner was Gothenburg (Sweden).  Grenoble (France) took the second prize, PoznaƄ (Poland) the third prize and the special mentions went to Belfast (United Kingdom) for build environment and public spaces, Dresden, Germany, for information and communication technologies, Burgos (Spain) for public services and facilities and Malaga (Spain) for transport and related infrastructures.


Contact us

European secretariat of the Access City Award 

Tel / fax +44 20 74 44 42 33

Related links