Navigation path

European Natura 2000 Award

Get the recognition
you deserve!

The call for applications has now closed!

The 2015 call for applications was open from 26 November 2014 to 21 January 2015 and the evaluation of the applications is now underway. Summaries of all applications can be viewed on the 2015 Edition page. The short-list of applications will be announced at the beginning of April 2015 when voting for the Citizens' Award will also be launched and you will be able to support your favourite application directly.

The European Commission launched the Natura 2000 Award in 2014. It is designed to celebrate and promote best practices for nature conservation in Europe. The Award aims to bring the success of the Natura 2000 network to the public’s attention and to demonstrate its importance for protecting biodiversity across Europe. The initiative rewards excellence in the management and promotion of the network and its objectives.

Natura 2000 works to assure the long-term survival of Europe's most valuable and threatened species and habitats, and is the centrepiece of the EU's nature and biodiversity policy.

2014 Edition

The Inaugural 2014 Natura 2000 Award successfully highlighted excellent examples of how different actors across Europe are investing in nature in effective and innovative ways. The 2014 Award received 163 applications and the five winners were announced at a Ceremony in Brussels on 21 May 2014.

Visit the five winning applicants below and find out more about their impressive achievements in the five award categories (Conservation, Communication, Reconciling interests/perceptions, Socio-economic benefits, and Networking and cross-border cooperation), as well as updated information about their latest activities and how winning the Award has benefited their work.