Mobility and Transport

Infrastructure - TEN-T - Connecting Europe

European coordinators

European coordinators

Based on the proposals from the Member States, there have been identified 30 Priority Projects which are included in the guidelines for the development of the TEN-T as projects of European interest.

The Priority Projects were chosen both according to their European added-value and their contribution to the sustainable development of transport. Their completion - planned for 2020 - will improve the economic efficiency of the European transport system and provide direct benefits for European citizens.

Of these 30 key projects, 18 are railway projects, 3 are mixed rail-road projects, 2 are inland waterway transport projects and one refers to Motorways of the Sea. This choice reflects a high priority to more environmentally friendly transport modes, contributing to the fight against climate change.

There has been a firm commitment on behalf of the Member States and the European Union to deliver these key Priority Projects and they have been at the centre of the European Union's efforts - both financially and in terms of coordination. In July 2005 the European Commission has in particular designated a group of nine eminent European Coordinators to evaluate the progress of certain TEN-T Priority Projects, to make recommendations for the effective implementation of these projects and to play a major role in advancing the works.

The coordinators in charge of specific TEN-T priority projects are:

Pat Cox [PP1: Berlin-Verona/Milan-Bologna-Napoli-Messina-Palermo rail link]

Carlo Secchi [PP3: South-west European high-speed rail link / PP19: High-speed rail interoperability on the Iberian peninsula ]

Laurens Jan Brinkhorst [PP6: Lyon-Trieste-Divaca/Koper-Divaca-Ljubljana-Budapest-Ukrainian border rail link]

Péter Balázs [PP17: Paris-Strasbourg-Stuttgart-Wien-Bratislava rail link]

Karla Peijs [PP18: Rhine/Meuse-Main-Danube / PP30: Seine–Scheldt]

Luis Valente de Oliveira [PP21: Motorways of the Sea (MoS)]

Gilles Savary [PP22: Athina-Sofia-Budapest-Wien-Praha-Nürnberg/Dresden]

Pavel Telicka [PP27: Rail Baltica]

Karel Vinck [The European Rail Traffic Management System (ERTMS)]