Mobility and Transport

Infrastructure - TEN-T - Connecting Europe



The trans-European transport network (TEN-T) is a network which comprises roads, railway lines, inland waterways, inland and maritime ports, airports and rail-road terminals throughout the 28 Member States. This characteristic is a key factor for the network's efficient, safe and secure operation, using seamless transport chains for passengers and freight. It builds on existing and planned infrastructure in these States which has been identified on the basis of a single methodology and which has to comply with common requirements/standards (set out in the Guidelines). The TEN-T consists of two planning layers:

1. The "comprehensive network": a multi-modal network of relatively high density which provides all European regions (including peripheral and outermost regions) with an accessibility that supports their further economic, social and territorial development as well as the mobility of their citizens. Its planning has been based on a number of common criteria (e.g. volume thresholds for terminals or accessibility needs). The total length of the comprehensive network amounts to:

- 138072 km of railway lines
- 136706 km of roads

2. The "core network": a part of the comprehensive network, distinguished by its strategic importance for major European and global transport flows. It results from a single European planning methodology . Developed by the European Commission and subjected to broad consultation among Member States and other stakeholders, it is the first method of its kind. The total length of the core network amounts to:

- 50762 km of railway lines
- 34401 km of roads
- 15715 km of inland waterways

The maps of the trans-European transport network display existing infrastructure as well as infrastructure to be built or upgraded for the different transport modes. They include both layers – the core and comprehensive networks. Maps are shown in two formats: the entire European Union, and extracts for geographical regions. For better recognisability, maps are split into combinations of transport modes:

  • Inland waterways and ports (inland and maritime)
  • Railways (freight), ports and rail-road terminals
  • Railways (passengers) and airports
  • Roads, ports, airports and rail-road terminals.

Maps of the EU Member States:

Indicative maps have also been created for neighbouring countries , to ensure their coherence with the trans-European network.