Mobility and Transport


International Aviation - ECAA

International Aviation - ECAA

The European Common Aviation Area - an ambitious agreement with partners from South-Eastern and Northern Europe: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Kosovo under UNSCR 1244, Norway and Iceland.


In December 2004, the Council of Ministers authorised the European Commission to start negotiations with eight South-East European partners (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro and the U.N. Mission in Kosovo) on a “European Common Aviation Area” (ECAA) agreement.

The objective was to integrate the EU’s neighbours in South-East Europe in the EU's internal aviation market which, at the time, consisted of 25 EU Member States as well as Norway and Iceland.

The negotiations were opened on 31 March 2005 with a multilateral high-level meeting, at which all negotiating parties expressed support for reaching the ECAA Agreement as quickly as possible. After only nine months of negotiations, the text of the ECAA Agreement was agreed between all parties in December 2005. (On 1 January 2007, Bulgaria and Romania joined the European Union.)

The eight South-East European partners agreed to the full application of the European Community’s aviation law (Community acquis). Once ECAA partners fully implement the EC’s aviation acquis, ECAA airlines will have open access to the enlarged European single market in aviation. The ECAA agreement will therefore create new market opportunities due to an integrated aviation market of 36 countries and more than 500 million people. At the same time, the agreement will lead to equally high standards in term of safety and security across Europe, through the uniform application of rules.