Current portal location

Current portal location

Website content

Countries and regions

Andean Community

Andean countries

The EU has a comprehensive trade agreement with Colombia and Peru. The agreement has been provisionally applied with Peru since 1 March 2013 and with Colombia since 1 August 2013.

On 1 January 2017, Ecuador joined the trade agreement.

The agreement gradually opens up markets on both sides and increases the stability and predictability of the trade and investment environment.

Bolivia, a member of the Andean Community, can also seek accession to the trade agreement.

Exporter stories

See how the EU-Colombia/Peru trade agreement benefits companies and communities across the EU

Read the exporters' stories

Trade picture

  • The EU is the third-largest trade partner and a major investor in the Andean countries. In 2020, total trade of the EU with the Andean countries was worth around €21 billion.
  • The Andean countries export agricultural products (50.1%), fisheries products (14.5%) and mineral products (18,6%) to the EU.
  • The EU mostly exports manufactured goods to the Andean countries (90%), notably machinery and transport equipment (34%) and chemical products (24.7%).

EU-Andean Community 3: Trade in goods

Trade in goods 2018-2020, € billions
Year EU imports EU exports Balance
2018 13.1 11.3 -1.8
2019 12.5 12.2 -0.3
2020 11.8 9.2 -2.5

Unless otherwise mentioned “EU” concerns for all indicated years the current European Union of 27 Member States.

Date of retrieval: 12/04/2021

More statistics on EU-Andean Community

Statistics on the Andean countries: Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru

EU and the Andean countries

Colombia, Ecuador and Peru

The EU, Colombia and Peru concluded trade negotiations in 2011. The EU-Colombia/Peru Trade Agreement  was signed on June 2012. The agreement has been provisionally applied with Peru since March 2013 and with Colombia since August 2013.

The negotiations for Ecuador's accession to the trade agreement with Colombia and Peru were concluded in July 2014. The Protocol of Accession for Ecuador was signed in November 2016 and has been provisionally applied since 1 January 2017.

Benefits of the trade agreement include:

  • opening markets for goods, services, government procurement and investment;
  • better conditions for trade through new rules on non-tariff barriers, competition, transparency and intellectual property rights;
  • a more stable and predictable environment for businesses with a bilateral dispute settlement mechanism and a mediation system for non-tariff barriers;
  • arrangements for cooperation on competitiveness, innovation, production modernisation, trade facilitation and technology transfer, and;
  • a comprehensive Trade and Sustainable Development chapter with commitments aimed to ensure high levels of labour and environmental protection, which includes a transparent arbitration system and procedures to engage with civil society.


Bolivia benefits from the preferential access that the EU grants under the EU's Generalised Scheme of Preferences (GSP), including through the special incentive arrangement for sustainable development and good governance, known as GSP+.

Committees and Dialogues

The EU and Colombia, Ecuador and Peru meet regularly to discuss issues and best practices relating to the implementation of the trade agreement. The Trade Committee and eight specialised Sub-committees established by the agreement meet annually.

Trading with Andean countries