Taxation and Customs Union

Common EU list of third country jurisdictions for tax purposes

The first ever EU list of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions was agreed by Member States on 5 December 2017.
On 23 January 2018, eight jurisdictions were removed from the list, following commitments made at a high political level to remedy EU concerns.
On 13 March 2018, the Council removed Bahrain, the Marshall Islands and Saint Lucia from the list and added the Bahamas, Saint Kitts and Nevis and the US Virgin Islands.

Read the Council Conclusions of 5 December 2017
Read the Press Release of 5 December 2017
Read the Q&A sheet
Factsheet (the list of countries on this fact-sheet represents the situation on 5 December 2017 - the list was updated on 23 January 2018)

Read the Council Press Release of 23 January 2018
Read the Council Press Release of 13 March 2018

This list is part of the EU's work to fight tax evasion and avoidance and aims to create a stronger deterrent for countries that consistently refuse to play fair on tax matters.


The overall goal of the EU list is to improve tax good governance globally, and to ensure that the EU's international partners respect the same standards as EU Member States do.



The list is a result of a thorough screening and dialogue process with non-EU countries, to assess them against agreed criteria for good governance.
These criteria relate to tax transparency, fair taxation, the implementation of OECD BEPS measures and substance requirements for zero-tax countries.

The criteria were agreed by Member States at the November 2016 ECOFIN and used as the basis for a screening "scoreboard".



The countries in the list below are those that refused to engage with the EU or to address tax good governance shortcomings (situation on March 13 of 2018).

  • American Samoa
  • Bahamas
  • Guam
  • Namibia
  • Palau
  • Samoa
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • US Virgin Islands

The EU listing process also had a very positive impact as most jurisdictions engaged constructively with the EU during the listing process.
Many made concrete, high level commitments to improve their standards, as a result of the EU screening exercise.
This is the major achievement of the EU list process.



*this diagramme refers to commitments made at the moment of publication of the first list.

EU Member States will continue to monitor the situation, to ensure that jurisdictions implement their commitments.
The EU list will be updated at least once a year and listed jurisdictions will be removed from the list once they have addressed EU concerns.

Read the Press Release of 5 December 2017
Read the Q&A sheet
Read the Council Conclusions of 5 December 2017
Read the Council Press Release of 23 January 2018
Detailed explanation of the methodology and the scoreboard
External Strategy for Effective Taxation