Taxation and customs union

The Brussels Tax Forum 2007

Brussels, 19 - 20 March 2007

Monday 19 March

Theme: Taxation and other economic instruments for sustainable development

Opening Session


Opening of the conference

14.35 - 14.50

Opening speech by László Kovács,
EU-Commissioner for Taxation and Customs Union

14.50 - 15.05

Opening speech by Stavros Dimas,
EU Commissioner for environment

15.05 - 15.20

Opening speech by Peer Steinbrück,
President of the EU ECOFIN Council and German Minister of Finance

Session: Economic instruments for sustainability

Chair: Johannes Blokland , Vice-Chairman of the Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety of the European Parliament

15.25 - 15.35

Introduction by the chair

15.35 - 15.50

Experience with the use of economic instruments in Europe
Prof. Jacqueline McGlade, Executive director, European Environment Agency

15.50 - 16.05

Economic instruments for environmental protection: the US Experience
Dick Morgenstern, Resources for the Future, Washington, USA

16.05 - 16.20

Taxes and trading: partners or competitors in environmental policy?
Prof. Paul Ekins , Head, Environment Group, Policy Studies Institute, London, UK

16.50 - 17.50

Discussion panel - previous speakers and panellists:

Miklós Persányi, Minister of Environment, Hungary

John Hontelez, Secretary-General, European Environmental Bureau

Prof. Ma Zhong, Dean, School of Environment and Natural resources, Renmin University of China

Prof. Akira Yokoyama, Chuo University, Japan

Hussein Abaza, Chief of the Economics and Trade Branch, United Nations Environment Programme

17.50 - 18.30

Open discussion and conclusions by the chair

Tuesday 20 March

Theme: Modernisation of tax systems, with focus on environmental taxation, tools to contribute to sustainable development

9.00 - 9.10

Opening of the second day by Commissioner Kovács

9.10 - 9.20

The Brussels Tax Forum in a broader context: the 8th Annual Global Conference on Environmental Taxation
Anselm Görres, President, Green Budget Germany

First session: Tax reforms and environmental taxation: economic and fiscal aspects

Chair: Pervenche Berès, Chairwoman of the Committee on economic and monetary affairs of the European Parliament

9.20 - 9.30

Introduction by the chair

9.30 - 9.45

Modernisation of tax systems: instrument for sustainable economic growth
Jan Kees de Jager, State Secretary for Finance, The Netherlands

9.45- 10.00

Fiscal instruments and objectives in energy policy
Teresa Ter-Minassian, Director of the Fiscal Affairs Department, International Monetary Fund

10.00 - 10.15

Particularities of environmental taxation in the US
Prof. Janet Milne, Director, Environmental Tax Policy Institute, Vermont Law School, USA

10.15- 10.30

Environmental tax reforms and competitiveness
Prof. Mikael Skou Andersen, NERI, University of Aarhus , Denmark

11.00 - 12.00

Discussion panel - previous speakers and panellists:

Prof. Norbert Walter, Chief Economist, Deutsche Bank Group

Tom Jones, Head, National Policies Division, OECD Environment Directorate

Prof. Alberto Majocchi, President, The Institute for Studies and Economic Analyses, Rome, Italy

Seung-Rae Kim, Korea Institute of Public Finance

12.00 - 12.30

Open discussion and conclusions by the chair

Second session: Tax reforms and environmental taxation: experience so far - public acceptance and ways forward

Chair: Marie-Louise Moller, Bloomberg News

14.05 - 14.20

Experience and ways forward in eco taxes
Mike Williams (replacing John Healey), HM Treasury, United Kingdom

14.20 - 14.35

Experience and ways forward in eco taxes
João Amaral Tomaz, Secretary of State for Fiscal Matters, Portugal

14.35 - 14.50

Prospects of environmental taxation in Asia
Rae Kwon Chung, Director of the Environment and Sustainable development Division of UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific


New challenges for EU tax policy
Robert Verrue, Director General DG TAXUD, European Commission

15.05 - 16.00

Discussion panel - previous speakers and panellists:

Yannis Paleokrassas, former EU Commissioner for Environment

Paul Metz, European Business Council for Sustainable Energy

Anselm Görres (replacing Kai Schlegelmilch), President, Green Budget Germany

David Gee, European Environment Agency

16.00 - 16.30

Open discussion and conclusions by the chair

16.30 - 16.45

General conclusions of Commissioner Kovács