Employment, Social Affairs & Inclusion

03/12/2021 Brussels

Access City Award 2022

The 12th edition of the Access City Award competition is now open. EU cities have until 8 September 2021 to apply.

The Access City Award 2022, the new edition of the annual prize for accessible cities, is now open for applications.

EU cities with over 50 000 inhabitants have the opportunity to present their innovative and forward-thinking actions and strategies to become barrier-free and better cities for everyone to live and work.

The selection process is split into two stages:

  1. national juries will evaluate the applications at a national level
  2. an EU jury will then assess the shortlisted applications

Celebrating the 12th Access City Award

This new edition of the Access City Award will capitalize on the European Year of Rail to reward a city that has made outstanding efforts to make their train stations accessible for persons with disabilities, by awarding them a special mention. 

Since the 2020 edition of the Access City Award, a financial prize has been awarded to the first, second and third place winners of the competition (please note that special mentions are not entitled to a financial prize).

Rules of contest

For more information please see the following documents:


Share this page