Employment, Social Affairs & Inclusion

News 16/07/2018

Access City Award 2019 now open for applications

The 2019 edition of the Access City Award is now receiving applications. This year also includes special culture heritage awards.

The Access City Award recognises and celebrates efforts by cities to improve accessibility for all of their citizens, in order to ensure equal access to equal rights, and improve quality of life for everyone. The EU is expected to have 120 million people with disabilities by 2020, and with an aging population, it is essential that cities be accessible for all.

This year, special awards will be given as part of the European year of cultural heritage, and will reward cities for their outstanding efforts to make cultural heritage sites accessible.

The Access City Award is open to

  • all EU cities of over 50 000 inhabitants
  • urban areas composed of two or more towns with a combined population of over 50,000 inhabitants, if they are in EU countries with fewer than 2 cities with over 50 000 inhabitants

For the Access City Award 2019, cities with fewer than 50 000 inhabitants may participate in one category of the special cultural heritage awards. The deadline for applications is 16 September 2018.

Share this page