Employment, Social Affairs & Inclusion

News 08/11/2022

Access City Award 2023: shortlist of cities published

Six cities have been shortlisted for the 2023 Access City Award competition.

These cities have been chosen as finalists for the 2023 Access City Award:

  • Córdoba (Spain)
  • Grenoble (France)
  • Hamburg (Germany)
  • Ljubljana (Slovenia)
  • Mérida (Spain)
  • Skellefteå (Sweden) 

These EU cities now have the chance to be recognised for their work to become accessible for all, including persons with disabilities.

Commissioner for Equality, Helena Dalli, said: “A city that makes it easy for its population to live in, regardless of age, mobility, or ability should be recognised and celebrated. The Access City Award rewards cities that have prioritised accessibility to improve everyone’s quality of life. Around 87 million people have some forms of disability in the EU and need to get access on equal basis with others.”

These cities have showcased best practices and illustrated their efforts to ensure equal access to urban life for persons with disabilities and older citizens, including on housing and public transport, as well as information and communication technologies and services.

National experts pre-selected candidates and an EU jury shortlisted the six cities among 43 cities that applied for the Award.

The Access City Award winners will be announced on 25 November 2022 at an award ceremony during the European Day of Persons with Disabilities conference, organised by the European Commission together with the European Disability Forum. 

Share this page