Employment, Social Affairs & Inclusion


Transitional restrictions on access of workers from Croatia to the labour markets of other Member States currently apply in

  • Austria

This means that Austria regulates access of Croatian workers to its labour market by national law and may require work permits from Croatian workers.

Croatia has equivalent transitional restrictions for workers from Austria.

According to the 2011 Act of Accession, EU-27 Member States can temporarily restrict the access of workers from Croatia to their labour markets.

First phase: 1 July 2013 - 30 June 2015

The access was regulated by the national law of the other Member States. 13 Member States applied restrictions (AT, BE, CY, FR, DE, EL, IT, LU, MT, NL, ES, SI and UK). The others decided to fully apply EU free movement rules to Croatian workers.

Second phase: 1 July 2015 - 30 June 2018  

Member States could maintain restrictions if they notified it to the Commission beforehand. Austria, the Netherlands, SloveniaMalta, and the United Kingdom had done so.

Third phase: 1 July 2018 - 30 June 2020

In the final phase Member States are able to apply the restrictions only in case of serious disturbances of their labour market or a threat of such disturbances. Currently, restrictions apply only in Austria.

Share this page