Employment, Social Affairs & Inclusion

03/12/2021 Brussels

Access City Award 2022

Luxembourg City wins 2022 Access City Award. Barcelona, Helsinki, Leuven, Luxembourg City, Palma and Porto were the cities shortlisted. The winners were announced at the Access City Award ceremony on 3 December.

Forty EU cities with over 50 000 inhabitants presented their actions and strategies to become barrier-free and better cities for everyone to live and work.

Six cities have been shortlisted for the Access City Award 2022. In alphabetical order, they are:

  • Barcelona (Spain)
  • Helsinki (Finland)
  • Leuven (Belgium)
  • Luxembourg City (Luxembourg)
  • Palma (Spain)
  • Porto (Portugal)

Luxembourg City wins 2022 Access City Award

The 2022 Access City Award goes to Luxembourg City. A jury of accessibility experts recognised the city for its wide range of innovative solutions and improvements to enhance accessibility for persons with disabilities. The city of Helsinki in Finland and the city of Barcelona in Spain are the second and third place winners.

Finally, Leuven in Belgium and Palma in Spain received a special mention. Leuven was recognised for mainstreaming accessibility, including in the digital area. Palma won a special mention for improving access to the physical environment, including beaches and parks.

Celebrating the 12th Access City Award

To mark the European Year of Rail, the Commission has awarded a special mention to Porto in Portugal for improving the accessibility of its train stations.

Since the 2020 edition of the Access City Award, a financial prize has been awarded to the first, second and third place winners of the competition (please note that special mentions are not entitled to a financial prize)


Share this page