Employment, Social Affairs & Inclusion

Access City Award

Three pictures of disabled people smiling and the Commission logo

The Access City Award has been created by the European Commission to reward cities that have prioritised accessibility for persons with disabilities.

Accessibility is a precondition for participation for persons with disabilities. A city is accessible when persons with disabilities can, for instance:

  • get information;
  • use buses, trams and metros;
  • enjoy parks and playgrounds:
  • get in and around buildings like the library, sports hall and city hall.

Access City Award 2023

Six cities have been shortlisted for the 2023 Access City Award. The winners will be announced on 25 November 2022 at an award ceremony during the European Day of Persons with Disabilities conference organised by the European Commission together with the European Disability Forum.

Who can apply?

The Access City Award is open to

  • all EU cities of over 50 000 inhabitants

urban areas composed of two or more towns with a combined population of over 50 000 inhabitants, if they are in EU countries with fewer than 2 cities with over 50 000 inhabitants

Selection process

The selection process is divided into two phases: pre-selection at national level and final selection at European level. The national juries in each country shortlist a maximum of three cities. Out of the pre-selected candidates, the European Jury selects the winners.

The juries consider measures taken and planned in the following areas:

  • the built environment and public spaces;
  • transport and related infrastructure;
  • information and communication, including;
  • public facilities and services.

The successful applicant has to demonstrate a coherent approach to accessibility across all four areas and an ambitious vision.

Why an Access City Award?

Around 87 million people have some forms of disability in the EU. If things are not accessible, they will not be able to take part in the community like other people. Additionally, Europe is now essentially an urban society, with seven out of ten EU citizens living in towns and cities.

The Access City Award is part of the EU’s wider efforts to make life better for persons with disabilities: the Strategy for the Rights of Persons with Disabilities and the European Pillar of Social Rights.

The Access City Award is an EU initiative that

  • recognises efforts by cities to become more accessible
  • promotes equal access to urban life for people with disabilities
  • allows local authorities to promote and share their best practices


Previous winners of the Access City Award

Alternatively, find the previous winners in this list.

Share this page