IMPORTANT LEGAL NOTICE - The information on this site is subject to a disclaimer and a copyright notice.

Press Releases

Brussels, 26 September 1997

Commission approves second term for
European Science and Technology Assembly

On 7 October 1997, Mrs Edith CRESSON, Commissioner for research, innovation, education, training and youth, will address the first meeting of the new European Science and Technology Assembly (ESTA). The European Commission recently renewed the membership of the Assembly, which had come to the end of its first three-year term.
ESTA, whose membership consists of top scientists, including several Nobel prizewinners, and prominent industrialists, was established as a consultative body in 1994 to help the Commission to define and implement its research and technological development policy. Building on the experience gained during the first mandate and in order to facilitate interaction between its members, the new Assembly (61 members) is somewhat smaller than its predecessor. Reflecting the requirements of the Fifth Framework Programme, the representation of experts in the social and economic field has been enhanced, while maintaining ESTA’s broad spectrum of scientific and industrial expertise.
Two main points will be on the agenda of the meeting on 7th-8th October: ESTA’s new workplan, which will focus on the further preparation and implementation of the Fifth Framework Programme and the election of six members of the new Bureau, the Executive Board of the Assembly. The Commission will subsequently complement these nominations with up to five additional appointments, also drawn from the ESTA members, ensuring a balanced composition of the Bureau, as is the case with the Assembly. The first meeting of the Bureau will take place in November, at which time the new Chairman and two Vice-chairmen will be elected.
For further information, please contact:
Mr Stephen Gosden
Press and Information Officer
Fax: +
Dr. Gary AcresAdviser European RTD, Johnson Matthey plc, Technology Centre, Reading
Dr. Angelo Airaghi Vice President, Finmeccanica, Rome
Dr. Antti ArjasPresident, Finnish Pulp and Paper Research Institute
Prof. Sergio BarabaschiMember of the Board, Italian Space Agency, Rome
Prof. Alain BensoussanPresident, Centre National d’Etudes Spatiales (CNES), Paris
Dr. Ole Bjerrum Danish Medical Science Research Council, Copenhagen
Prof. Paolo BlasiRector, Università degli Studi di Firenze, Florence
Dr. Jan BorgmanChairman of the first ESTA, Den Haag
Prof. Richard BrookChief Executive, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), windon
Prof. Bruno BuchbergerResearch Institute for Symbolic Computing (RISC), Johannes Kepler University, Schloss Hagenberg, Austria
Prof. Michel CabocheLaboratoire de Biologie Cellulaire, Institut National de la Recherche Agronomique, (INRA), Versailles
Dr. Pierre CastillonDirecteur Recherche, Technologie, Environnement, Elf Aquitaine, Paris
Prof. Paul CrutzenMax-Planck-Institute for Chemistry, Mainz
Dr. Christian Dambrineformerly Union des Confédérations de l’Industrie et des Employeurs d’Europe (UNICE), Paris
Prof. Hans DanielmeyerTechnical University, München
Prof. Dervilla DonnellyDepartment of Chemistry, University College Dublin , Dublin
Prof. Pieter DrenthFac. Psychologie en Pedagogiek ,Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
Prof. Aant Elzinga Department of Theory of Science and Research, Göteborgs Universitet
Prof. Robert Erickson Swedish Institute for Social Research, Stockholm University
Prof. Jens Fenstad Institute of Mathematics, Oslo University
Prof. Frank Gannon Executive Director, European Molecular Biology Organization, Heidelberg
Prof. Detlev Ganten Max Delbrück Centrum für Molekulare Medizin, Berlin
Prof. Leo Goldschmidt Banque Degroof, Brussels
Prof. François Gros Secrétaire Perpétuel de l’Académie des Sciences, Paris
Prof. Haim Harari President, Weizmann Institute
Prof. Hans Hoffmann Senior Physicist, Centre Européen pour la Recherche Nucléaire, Genève
Prof. Jakob Jakobsson Director, Marine Research Institute, Reykjavik
Prof. Fotis Kafatos Director General, European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Heidelberg
Prof. J. Krebs Chief Executive, Natural Environment Research Council (NERC), Swindon
Prof. Sir Harold Kroto University of Sussex, Brighton
Dr. Juhani Kuusi Senior Vice-President and Head of Nokia Research Center, Helsinki
Prof. Antonio Luque López ESTSI Telecommunications, Universidad Politécnica, Madrid
Prof. Luciano Maiani President, Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare (INFN), Roma
Prof. Hubert Markl President, Max-Planck Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften, München
Prof. Guido Martinotti Istituto Superiore di Sociologia, University of Milan
Dr. Jan Martinsson Senior Vice-President R&D, Asea Brown Boveri AB, Västeras
Prof. Howard Newby Vice-Chancellor, University of Southampton
Prof. Cesar Nombelo Cano Director, Centre for DNA Sequencing, Complutense University, Madrid
Prof. Helga Nowotny Institut für Wissenschaftstheorie und Wissenschaftsforschung der Universität Wien
Prof. Birger Olsen University of Copenhagen
Prof. Luis Oro Dept. of Inorganic Chemistry, University of Zaragoza
Prof. Klaus Pinkau Scientific Director, Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik, Garching
Prof. Heracles Polemarchakis CORE, Université Catholique de Louvain, Louvain-la-Neuve
Prof. Eigil Praestgaard Department for Life Sciences and Chemistry, Roskilde University
Prof. Alexandre Quintanilha Instituto de Biologia Molecular e Cellular (IBMC), Porto
Prof. Sir Dai Rees President, European Science Foundation (ESF)
Prof. Martin Rem Rector, Technical University of Eindhoven
Prof. Carlo Rizzuto Vice Chairman, National Institute for the Physics of Matter (INFM), Genova
Dr. Claudina Rodrigues-Pousada Senior Scientist, Laboratorio de Genética Molecular, Insitituto Gulbenkian de Ciencia, Oerias
Prof. Carlo Rubbia Senior Physicist, Centre Européen pour la Recherche Nucléaire, Genève
Dr. Jean-Claude Salomon Institut de Recherches Scientifiques sur le Cancer, Centre Nationale de la Recherche Scientifique, Villejuif
Prof. Thomas D. Spearman Vice Provost, School of Mathematics, University of Dublin
Prof. Erich Spitz Directeur Général Adjoint, Thomson, Paris
Prof. Sir Peter Swinnerton-Dyer Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences, University of Cambridge
Prof. Gilbert Trausch Director, Centre d’Études et de Recherches Européennes, Luxembourg
Dr. Reinder van Duinen President, Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research (NWO), Den Haag
Dr. Carmen Vela Olmo President INGENASA, Madrid
Prof. Alain Verbeke Faculty of Economics, Social and Political Sciences - Solvay Business School, University of Brussels
Prof. David Wallace Vice Chancellor, Loughborough University
Prof. Gerhard Wegner Max-Planck-Institut für Polymerforschung, Mainz
Prof. Ernst Winnacker President designate, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, Bonn