Participation of Third Countries in the COSME Programme

Enlargement countries (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Kosovo*, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey)

Montenegro signed the International Agreement on 25 June 2014 which entered into force on 29 October 2014.

The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia signed the International Agreement on 29 September 2014 which entered into force on 16 January 2015.

Turkey signed the International Agreement on 16 October 2014 which entered into force on 22 December 2014.

Albania signed the International Agreement on 3 March 2015 which entered into force on 6 August 2015.

Serbia signed the International Agreement on 10 November 2015 which entered into force on 23 December 2015.

Bosnia and Herzegovina signed the International Agreement on 2 June 2016 which entered into force on 24 February 2017.

Kosovo* signed the International Agreement on 19 December 2017 which entered into force on 4 September 2018.

Eastern Neighbourhood countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine)

Moldova signed the International Agreement on 29 September 2014 which entered into force on 7 April 2015. Moldova does not participate in the COSME financial instruments.

Armenia signed the International Agreement on 10 December 2015 which entered into force on 29 December 2015. Armenia does not participate in the COSME financial instruments.

Ukraine signed the International Agreement on 4 May 2016 which entered into force on 21 March 2017. Ukraine does not participate in the COSME financial instruments.

^{*} This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

Southern Neighbourhood countries (Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Palestine, Tunisia)

No formal expression of interest to join COSME has been received from any of the southern neighbourhood countries.

EFTA countries

Iceland is fully participating in the COSME programme since 2014

Norway is not participating in COSME.

Liechtenstein is not participating in COSME.

Switzerland cannot participate as there is currently no legal basis under which it could do so.

Other countries

At present, there is no legal basis for other countries to join the programme. However, COSME legal basis allows entities from other countries to participate in certain projects on a self-financing basis.
