

EUROPEAN COMMISSION

Directorate-General for Research & Innovation

Associated Countries

Association to Horizon 2020 is governed by Article 7 of the Horizon 2020 Regulation. Legal entities from Associated Countries can participate under the same conditions as legal entities from the Member States. Association to Horizon 2020 takes place through the conclusion of an International Agreement.

As of 01 January 2017, the following countries are associated to Horizon 2020:

- Iceland
- Norway
- Albania
- Bosnia and Herzegovina
- North Macedonia
- Montenegro
- Serbia
- Turkey
- Israel
- Moldova
- Switzerland
- Faroe Islands
- Ukraine
- Tunisia
- Georgia
- Armenia

Association Agreements with all of the above countries have either entered into force or are provisionally applicable; all Agreements apply retroactively from 1 January 2014 (i.e. from the beginning of Horizon 2020) except for the Agreement with Switzerland, which is retroactively applicable as of 15 September 2014 (see below for detailed information), the Agreement with Ukraine which is applicable as from 17 August 2015, the Agreements



with Tunisia and Georgia which are applicable as from 1 January 2016 and the Agreement with Armenia which is applicable as from 7 November 2016.

Following the ratification of the Protocol on the extension to Croatia of the Free Movement of Persons Agreement between the EU and Switzerland by the Swiss Federal Council on 16 December 2016, as of 1 January 2017 Switzerland is associated to the whole of Horizon 2020, Euratom Programme 2014-2018 and the activities carried out by Fusion for Energy. This means that for all grant agreements signed as from 1 January 2017 onwards Swiss legal entities will be treated as entities from an Associated Country.

During the period from 15 September 2014 to 31 December 2016 the association of Switzerland to Horizon 2020 covered the following parts of the Programme: the "Excellent Science" pillar, containing the European Research Council, Future and Emerging Technologies, Research Infrastructures and the Marie Skłodowska-Curie actions; the actions under the specific objective "Spreading excellence and widening participation". During that period Switzerland was also associated to the entire Euratom Programme and the activities carried out by the European Joint Undertaking for ITER and the Development of Fusion for Energy for 2014-2020. In other Horizon 2020 priorities that are not listed directly above, **for all actions where the grant agreements were signed before 1 January 2017** Swiss legal entities continue to participate with a status of non-associated third country entities.

For more information, please see the information note on http://ec.europa.eu/research/participants/data/ref/h2020/other/hi/h2020-hi-swiss-part_en.pdf

Given that the EU does not recognise the illegal annexation of Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the City of Sevastopol, under the terms of the Horizon 2020 Association Agreement with **Ukraine**, legal persons established in the Autonomous Republic of Crimea or the city of Sevastopol are not eligible to participate. Should the illegal annexation of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the City of Sevastopol end, the Agreement will be revised accordingly. The same applies in relation to the association of Ukraine to the **Euratom Programme**. For more information on the association of Ukraine to the Euratom Programme, please see the information note on http://ec.europa.eu/research/participants/data/ref/h2020/other/hi/h2020-euratom-hi-ukraine-part en.pdf

The Horizon 2020 Association Agreement with **Armenia** does not provide for retroactive application. However, Armenian legal entities can participate in all Horizon 2020 actions funded **from the 2016 budget** (calls for proposals, calls for tenders, contests, JRC activities etc.) with the status of entities from an Associated Country as of the entry into force of the Association Agreement.

Note that, unlike in FP7, **Liechtenstein** does not intend to associate to Horizon 2020.

History of changes		
Version	Publication Date	Change
1.1	26.02.2014	 Updates on the participation conditions for Faroe Islands and Switzerland
1.2	19.05.2014	 Update on the countries associated with H2020: Norway and Iceland
1.3	11.06.2014	 Update on the participation status of Faroe Islands
1.4	15.07.2014	 Update on the countries associated with H2020: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Turkey, Israel, Moldova
1.5	12.09.2014	 Update on the association of Switzerland to parts of Horizon 2020
1.6	23.10.2014	 Update on the countries associated with H2020: Israel
1.7	5.12.2014	 New update on association of Switzerland to parts of Horizon 2020
1.8	17.12.2014	 Update on the countries associated with H2020: Faroe Islands
1.9	02.02.2015	 Update on status of the association of Ukraine to H2020
1.10	22.04.2015	 General clarifications and up-date on signature of the Horizon 2020 Association Agreement with Ukraine
1.11	17.08.2015	 Update on the countries associated with H2020: Ukraine
1.12	01.12.2015	 General clarifications and up-date on signature of the Horizon 2020 Association Agreement with Tunisia
1.13	17.02.2016	 Update on the participation status of Georgia and Armenia
1.14	14.04.2016	 Update on the countries associated with H2020: Tunisia
1.15	29.04.2016	 Update on the countries associated with H2020: Georgia
1.16	19.05.2016	 Update on the participation status of Armenia
1.17	08.11.2016	 Update on the countries associated with H2020: Armenia
1.18	02.12.2016	Information on Ukraine
1.19	20.12.2016	 Update on the participation status of Switzerland
1.20	27.02.2019	 Update on the denomination of North Macedonia