Organised by the Austrian Presidency of the Council of the European Union, the Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions (MSCA) Awards aim to identify the most promising researchers among those funded so far under the MSCA programme. Applications for the awards had to be sent with a short video.


Marie Curie awards 2018 winners
From left to right: Matthew Di Marco, Chair of the Marie Curie Alumni Association, Francisco Valente Goncalves, Gwendolyn Bailey, Deepak Palaksha and Viviane Hofman, Deputy Director-General for Education, Youth, Sport and Culture, European Commission.

Check out the winners in each category and their pitch video:

Category I: Outreach of the MSCA Project

Winner: Gwendolyn Bailey, KU Leuven, Design and Recycling of Rare-Earth Permanent Magnet Motors and Generators in Hybrid and Full Electric Vehicles (DEMETER)

Category II: Meeting Societal Challenges

Winner: Deepak Palaksha, Department of Signal Processing, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway. Wireless in Body Environment Communications – WiBEC

Category III: Bridging (Career) Paths

Winner: Francisco Valente Goncalves, Centre for Psychological Research and Social Intervention, ISCTE-Lisbon University Institute, Portugal. Interdisciplinary Training and Research Programme for Innovative Doctorates in Forensic Science-INTREPID Forensics

The MSCA Awards ceremony took place in Vienna on 1 October in the frame of the Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions beyond 2020 conference. The conference was the occasion for the European Commission to present the proposals for the specific funding schemes in Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions 2021-2027.

Find out more


MSCA on Facebook

MSCA on Twitter