Navigation path

Plan I(nnovation) for Europe: Priorities for the Next European Commission

Fringe session organised by the Lisbon Council

Studio 211/212, 10/03/2014 (14:00-15:15)

Innovation by definition entails risk and venturing into the unknown; it threatens to disrupt the established order and it is taking place at an unbeknownst speed, powered by a new generation of technologies that will shape every major sector, from mobility and health to manufacturing.

Europe's institutional framework to deal with innovation is often hampered by fragmentation, silos, even turf battles, making rapid responses to new economic developments cumbersome and slow. Going forward, Europe needs a comprehensive and hard-hitting master plan to mainstream innovation and digital technologies. But how can this be done? What should the priorities be, and what can be learnt from other countries and institutions around the world?


  • Mr Stian Westlake, executive director, policy and research, Nesta, Stian leads Nesta's world-class policy and research team, providing advice in order to make the UK – and Europe – a more innovative place
  • Mr Xavier Damman, co-founder and general manager, Storify - Xavier, a Belgian national, left for Silicon Valley to start his company, which has been phenomenally successful and was sold in September 2013 for an undisclosed sum
  • Mr Matthias Kaiserswerth, director, IBM Research Europe - Matthias spearheads the European segment of IBM’s impressive 6.3 billion dollar (2012) research programme, working from the Zurich lab, one of 12 labs worldwide
  • Mr Mark Surman, executive director, Mozilla Foundation - Mark, a community activist and technology executive, is at the helm of the Mozilla Foundation, best known as the organisation behind the Firefox browser
  • Mr Eze Vidra, head, Google for Entrepreneurs Europe, Google and head, Campus London - A native Argentinean raised in Israel, Eze is a serial entrepreneur who is actively building a vibrant startup community in Europe


  • Mr Gerard de Graaf, director, co-­ordination, DG communications networks, content and technology, European Commission
  • Mr Keith Sequeira, member of cabinet, Commissioner Máire Geoghegan-Quinn (research, innovation and science), European Commission

Moderator: Ann Mettler, executive director, the Lisbon Council

Links and Documents

ID: 12246

Practical information

List of Participants

Convention Programme  PDF icon

Poster of the event  PDF icon

The Convention is pleased to host

Contact us