Navigation path

Award of the EU Women Innovators Prize

Gold Hall, 10/03/2014 (10:45-11:15)

The EU Prize for Women Innovators was launched in 2011 to give public recognition to outstanding women entrepreneurs who brought their innovative ideas to the market and to inspire other women to follow in their footsteps. Although the proportion of female researchers in Europe is increasing, the under-representation of women in scientific and entrepreneurial careers still persists.

After a successful first edition, the European Commission awards the second EU Prize for Women Innovators to three women who have combined their scientific excellence with a head for business to set up innovative enterprises.

The contest was open until 15 October 2013 to all women who had founded or co-founded their company and who had at some point in their careers benefitted from the EU's research framework programmes or the Competitiveness and Innovation framework programme. An independent jury from business and academia evaluated the applications.

Get to know the 2014 Women Innovators at the award ceremony!

The three prizes will be awarded by:

  • José Manuel BARROSO, President of the European Commission, Portugal
  • Mark RUTTE, Prime Minister and Minister of General Affairs of the Netherlands
  • Máire GEOGHEGAN-QUINN, European Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science, Ireland

Links and Documents


Gitte NEUBAUER (Head of Cellzome, a GSK company, and 1st Prize Winner of the EU Prize for Women Innovators in 2011, Germany), Speaker

Moderator: Ann Mettler, Executive Director of the Lisbon Council

ID: 11825

Practical information

List of Participants

Convention Programme  PDF icon

Poster of the event  PDF icon

The Convention is pleased to host

Contact us