Mountains, Islands and Sparsely Populated Areas

Cohesion Policy pays particular attention to regions which suffer from severe and permanent natural or demographic handicaps such as mountains, islands and sparsely populated areas.

 Citi rīki


The analysis for 2014-2020 identified 15 Member States (Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Italy, Malta, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom) that highlighted in their Partnership Agreements specific territorial challenges due to the insular, mountainous and or sparsely populated character of their territories or parts of them.

Main documents