Interreg C - Interregional cooperation

Interregional cooperation, known as Interreg C, works at pan-European level, covering all EU Member States, and more. It builds networks to develop good practice and facilitate the exchange and transfer of experience by successful regions. It showcases what regions do well, to the benefit of those still investing.

INTERREG V C 2014-2020

INTERREG V C 2014-2020 covers 4 interregional cooperation programmes Interreg EUROPE, INTERACT, URBACT and ESPON.
ERDF contribution: €500 million

INTERREG EUROPE cooperation programme is a policy learning programme for European public authorities promoting the exchange of experience and the transfer of good practices between actors at all levels in Europe. By encouraging the share of knowledge the effectiveness of cohesion policy should be reinforced.
Countries: EU Member States, Norway, Switzerland
ERDF contribution: EUR 359 million

 INTERACT III is the European programme created especially for assisting European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) programmes. Interact helps programme's managing authorities, audit authorities and administrators of cooperation programmes, first level controllers to understand EU rules defined for 2014-2020 in order to improve the managements of these programmes. The Interact team offers training, tools and encourages networking within the territorial cooperation community and beyond. Reducing administrative burden for both programme bodies and beneficiaries Interact provides advisory services on Interreg practices. For the period 2014-2020 the selected overarching objective of Interact III is to enhance institutional capacity of public authorities and stakeholders and efficient public administration.
Countries: EU Member States, Norway, Switzerland
ERDF contribution: EUR 39 million

ESPON 2020 cooperation programme produces a pan-European research by providing scientific in-formation to public authorities and actors at all levels through territorial research and analysis. ESPON's 2020 overarching objective is to support the development of regions in line with the EU Cohesion Policy as well as national development policies making sure the cities and regions across Europe are well informed.
Countries: EU Member States, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland
ERDF contribution: EUR 41 million

URBACT III 2014-2020 provides a framework of network between local and regional bodies facing similar urban challenges. In order to find common solutions for a sustainable and integrated urban development in Europe, URBACT III supports cities by exchanging information and identifying good practice.
Countries: EU Member States, Norway and Switzerland
ERDF contribution: EUR 96.3 million

INTERREG IV C 2007-2013

The INTERREG IV C 2007-2013 programme enables EU regions to work together and is structured around two priorities, which address: innovation and the knowledge economy, and environment and risk prevention.
ERDF contribution: €321 million.
Countries: EU, Norway and Switzerland.
3 networking programmes:

  • The URBACT II programme brings together actors at local and regional level to exchange experience and to facilitate learning on urban policy themes. The programme supports thematic networks and working groups between cities, conferences and the development of tools.
    ERDF contribution: €53 million.
    Countries: EU, Norway and Switzerland.
  • The "European Spatial Planning Observation Network" (ESPON) provides scientific information for the development of regions and larger territories through applied research, analysis and tools.
    ERDF contribution: €34 million.
    Countries: EU, Norway, Switzerland, Iceland and Liechtenstein.
  • The INTERACT II programme provides training, services and tools to programme managers and administrators of co-operation programmes in order to improve the management of these programmes.
    Countries: EU,
    ERDF contribution: €34 million.

Jointly with the URBACT II programme, the INTERREG IVC programme is the main vehicle for the EU initiative ‘Regions for Economic Change’ which is designed to support regional and urban networks in developing and spreading best practice in economic modernisation. The most innovative projects can compete for the annual RegioStars award.