Additional tools


  • A 
  • B 
  • C 
  • D 
  • E 
  • F 
  • G 
  • I 
  • M 
  • N 
  • O 
  • P 
  • R 
  • S 
  • T 
  • U 

Outermost regions

Nine regions in the European Union are classified as 'outermost': the five French overseas departments (Guadeloupe, French Guyana, Martinique, Réunion, Mayotte); the French overseas communities of Saint-Martin; the Spanish Autonomous Community of the Canary Islands; and the Portuguese autonomous regions of the Azores and Madeira.

The outermost regions have to cope with a number of specific constraints such as remoteness, insularity, small size, difficult topography and climate, and economic dependence on only a few products. The combination of these factors over time severely hinders the regions' socio-economic development. The recognition of their special status in Article 349 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union is based on the principles of equality and proportionality, which allow regions to be treated differently in order to take their specific circumstances into account.

Further information