European Broadband Awards: applications open until 28 June

Additional tools


The European Broadband Awards is an annual event where the European Commission recognises outstanding broadband infrastructure projects in Europe. Finalised or advanced (at least 65% implemented) EU projects supported by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) are strongly encouraged to apply – irrespective of size, location or technology – and compete in one of the five categories:

  1. Innovative models of financing, business and investment.
  2. Cost reduction measures and co-investment.
  3. Demand generation and take-up of connectivity.
  4. Socio-economic impact in rural and remote areas.
  5. Quality and affordability of services. 

Application deadline is 28 June 2019. The projects will be assessed and selected by a jury of international experts nominated by the European Commission. The winners will be awarded by the EU Commissioners at the Award Ceremony on 2 December 2019 and their projects showcased during the Broadband Days in Brussels. 

More information and the application form are available at


Related themes

Information society