Report concerning the European Union Strategy for the Danube Region

Additional tools

Available languages : Bulgarian Czech Danish German Estonian Greek English Spanish French Italian Latvian Lithuanian Hungarian Maltese Dutch Polish Portuguese Romanian Slovak Slovenian Finnish Swedish
Period : 2007-2013
Date : 08/04/2013

The Danube Region covers 14 countries, eight of them EU Member States. It is home to more than 100 million people, a fifth of the EU’s population. The countries are different in terms of economic strength, but the Region is strongly interlinked, with potential for further integration and growth.

The Region has been transformed by the two last rounds of EU enlargement: Croatia is soon to join. There are a further five countries developing their political, socio-economic and sectoral links with the EU in various ways. The Region has a strategic position, opening the EU to its neighbours, the Black Sea region, the South Caucasus and Central Asia. It hosts the world’s most international river, which is a major transport axis, a vital inter-connected
hydrological basin and a world-renowned ecological corridor.

More information :

EU Strategy for the Danube Region