European Structural and Investment Funds 2014-2020: official texts and commentaries

Additional tools

Available languages : Bulgarian Czech Danish German Estonian Greek English Spanish French Croatian Italian Latvian Lithuanian Hungarian Dutch Polish Portuguese Romanian Slovak Slovenian Finnish Swedish
Period : 2014-2020
Date : 30/11/2015

There is now a single set of rules covering the EU’s five Structural and Investment Funds (the ESI Funds). The purpose of these rules is to establish a clear link with the Europe 2020 strategy for generating smart, sustainable and inclusive growth in the EU, improve coordination, ensure consistent implementation and make access to the ESI Funds as straightforward as possible for those who may benefit from them.

The 2014-2020 programming period brought forward a new legislative framework for these five Funds, which fall under the EU’s cohesion policy, the common agricultural policy and the common fisheries policy.

These five ESI Funds are as follows:  

  • the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF); 
  • the European Social Fund (ESF); 
  • the Cohesion Fund; 
  • the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development (EAFRD); 
  • the European Maritime and Fisheries Fund (EMFF).
More information :

European Structural and Investment Funds Regulations 2014-2020