Factsheet - EU Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region

Additional tools

Available languages : Danish German Estonian English Latvian Lithuanian Polish Finnish Swedish
Period :
Date : 26/02/2018

The EU Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region (EUSBSR) was the first EU macro-regional strategy to be adopted by the European Commission and endorsed by the European Council in 2009.

The Strategy unites eight EU Member States around the Baltic Sea, representing 80 million inhabitants or nearly 16 % of the EU population: 8 EU Member States: Estonia, Denmark, Finland, Germany (Berlin; Brandenburg; Hamburg; Mecklenburg-Vorpommern; Schleswig-Holstein), Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Sweden.

The Strategy welcomes cooperation with non-EU countries from the region, namely Belarus, Iceland, Norway and Russia in actions and projects of common interest.

More information :

EU Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region