European Structural and Investment Funds: Country factsheet - European Territorial Cooperation

Additional tools

Available languages : English
Period : 2014-2020
Date : 19/05/2016

European Territorial Cooperation, better known as Interreg, is one of two goals for Cohesion Policy (the other being Investment for Growth and Jobs) and provides a framework for joint action between Member States to find common solutions to shared problems. Interreg is entirely financed by ERDF, which is part of the ESI Funds.

Through 60 cross-border, 15 transnational and four interregional programmes, Interreg has been allocated EUR 9.1 billion from ERDF for the period 2014-2020 to foster cooperation at EU internal borders. With national co-financing of EUR 3.1 billion, Interreg has a total budget of EUR 12.2 billion to be invested in various areas, from environmental protection to research and innovation as well as transport and SMEs. In addition, Interreg contributes (around EUR 1 billion) to EU external border co-operation programmes supported by other instruments – the Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance (IPA) and the European Neighbourhood Instrument (ENI).

More information :

European Territorial Cooperation