Cohesion Policy and Belgium

Additional tools

Available languages : German English French Dutch
Period : 2014-2020
Date : 27/10/2014

In 2014-2020, Belgium manages eight operational programmes under EU Cohesion Policy. The three regions (Flanders, Wallonia and Brussels Capital) receive funding from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and five programmes are funded by the European Social Fund (ESF).

How much EU funding is invested in Belgium (2014-2020)?

For 2014-2020, Belgium has been allocated around € 2.28 billion (current prices) in total Cohesion Policy funding:

  • € 1.039 billion for transition regions (Provinces of Hainaut, Namur, Luxembourg and Liège)
  • € 939 million for more developed regions (Provinces of West-Vlaanderen, Oost-Vlaanderen, Region of Brussels Capital, provinces of Vlaams-Brabant, Brabant Wallon, Limburg and Antwerpen)
  • € 263 million for European Territorial Cooperation
  • € 42 million for the Youth Employment Initiative

Of this, ESF in Belgium represents a minimum of € 1 billion. The actual share is set in light of the specific challenges the country needs to address in the areas covered by the ESF.

More information :

Cohesion Policy achievements and future investments