European Cohesion Policy 2007-2013 in the United Kingdom: Priorities and Impact of Cohesion Policy in the Member States

Additional tools

Available languages : English
Period : 2007-2013
Date : 10/01/2009

For 2007–2013, the UK has been allocated around €10.6 billion in total Cohesion Policy funding: €2.9 billion under the Convergence Objective1, €7.0 billion under the Regional Competitiveness and Employment Objective and €722 million under the European Territorial Co-operation Objective.

The UK has 22 regional programmes under both the Convergence and
Regional Competitiveness and Employment Objectives. Of these, 16 receive
funding from the ERDF, with 6 programmes funded by the ESF.

West Wales and the Valleys, Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly, and the Highlands and Islands fall under the Convergence Objective, which covers approximately 10% of the UK’s population. East Wales, Lowlands and Uplands of Scotland, Northern Ireland, Gibraltar, East England, East Midlands, London, Merseyside, North East England, North West England, South East England, South West England, South Yorkshire, West Midlands, and Yorkshire and Humberside fall under the Regional Competitiveness and Employment Objective.