European Cohesion Policy 2007-2013 in Spain: Priorities and Impact of Cohesion Policy in the Member States

Additional tools

Available languages : English Spanish
Period : 2007-2013
Date : 10/01/2009

For the 2007–13 period, Spain has been allocated more than €35 billion in total: €26.2 billion under the Convergence Objective (€3.5 billion from the Cohesion Fund), €8.5 billion under the Regional Competitiveness and Employment Objective and €559 million under the European Territorial Cooperation Objective.

Spain has 45 programmes under both the Convergence and the Regional Competitiveness and Employment Objectives. Of these, 23 receive funding from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) (including one joint programme with the Cohesion Fund), with 22 receiving funding from the European Social Fund (ESF). A new multi-objective ‘Technology Fund’ programme devoted to research and innovation for and by enterprises has also been set up.

Andalucía, Castilla-La Mancha, Extremadura, Asturias, Ceuta, Melilla, Murcia and Galicia fall under the Convergence Objective. Aragón, Baleares, Cantabria, Cataluña, Madrid, Navarra, País Vasco Canarias, Castilla y León, Comunidad Valenciana and La Rioja fall under the Regional Competitiveness and Employment Objective. From 2007 to 2013, 16.3 million people will be living in ‘Convergence regions’ (37% of the total, compared to 59% in 2000–06).